New bicycle!!!


Meet Squeaker! So named for the squeak I need to fix in the front brakes.

To quote my dad, Isnt that pretty?

To quote my dad, "Isn't that pretty?"

I purchased this slightly used Schwinn Le Tour Friday night and took it on an inaugural run to ballet class Saturday morning. Boy, is it a step up from the Huffy. She rides real fast and smooth, and the difference in the amount of work I was doing was amazing! I barely broke a sweat!

As in le Grand Canyon Tour! Get off your a** and onto a bike and come along!

As in le Grand Canyon Tour! Get off your a** and onto a bike and come along!

Lots of DIY projects coming up on Squeaker as I attempt to transform her into her bicycle super power alter-ego, Speed Racer.

And for the concerned public, I spent $175 on accessories for the bike, including two u-locks. I won’t tempt fate by saying I dare any bicycle thief to try getting my bike now, but I will vow to never not use my u-lock again.

Part of that purchase included a new rear rack (since mine was stolen with Blue Huffy). Here’s a couple of pics from my DIY project attaching the rear rack, and what Squeaker looks like now.

Without baskets on this bike, we had to figure out a creative way for me to get all the stuff I bought home in my bag. Amanda (the girl at the shop--who is also a dancer, BTW) tied my bag up like a gift with old bicycle tube. It was fitting, I thought.

Without baskets on this bike, we had to figure out a creative way for me to get all the stuff I bought home in my bag. Amanda (the girl at the shop--who is also a dancer, BTW) tied my bag up like a gift with old bicycle tube. It was fitting, I thought.

Doing bicycle work in my living room and watching Project Runway

Doing bicycle work in my living room and watching Project Runway

And Squeaker now has a rear rack and is ready to ride! Woohoo!

And Squeaker now has a rear rack and is ready to ride! Woohoo!

I’m wondering if I should change the header picture on the blog, but I’m not past grieving for Blue Huffy yet.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “New bicycle!!!

  1. Great bike! I love old Schwinns. Definitely an upgrade from the Huffy.

  2. Congrats on your sweet bike! It reminds me of the Schwinn my dad rode in the 80s. Very cool!

  3. Bike looks awesome! You just need white bar tape and saddle.

    How does it fit? It looks like the seat is all the way down..

  4. bikinginla

    Congrats on the very cool new bike — love that classic frame geometry.

    As for the weight loss goals, you’re doing the right thing. I packed on the pounds when life got in the way of my riding for a few years; after about 18 months back on the bike, I dropped 50 pounds without dieting.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

